The Tony Awards


Marking 77 years of recognizing exceptional excellence on Broadway, the Antoinette Perry Awards (“Tony”®Awards) were announced at the David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, New York City, June 16, 2024.

Hosted by Ariana DeBose, the show started out with Leading Actor in a Pla, won by Jeremy Strong in “An Enemy of the People.” Originally written by Ibsen, it is an impressive story about a person who would not go along with the people in power who promote an incorrect local history. It was impressively done in Chicago. 

The following are the award winners:

Award Winner
Best Musical The Outsiders
Best Play Stereophonic
Best Revival of a Musical Merrily We Roll Along
Best Revival of a Play Appropriate
Leading Actor in a Musical Jonathan Groff (Merrily We Roll Along)
Leading Actress in a Musical Maleah Joi Moon (Hell’s Kitchen)
Leading Actor in a Play Jeremy Strong (An Enemy of the People)
Leading Actress in a Play Sarah Paulson (Appropriate)
Featured Actor in a Musical Daniel Radcliffe (Merrily We Roll Along)
Featured Actress in a Musical Kecia Lewis (Hell’s Kitchen)
Featured Actor in a Play Will Brill (Stereophonic)
Featured Actress in a Play Kara Young (Purlie Victorious)
Best Direction of a Musical Danya Taymor (The Outsiders)
Best Direction of a Play Daniel Aukin (Stereophonic)
Best Book of a Musical Shaina Taub (Suffs)
Best Original Score Written for the Theatre Suffs (Shaina Taub)
Best Scenic Design of a Musical Tom Scutt (Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club)
Best Scenic Design of a Play David Zinn (Stereophonic)
Best Choreography  Justin Peck (Illinoise)


 To understand the award process and who were competing visit 2024 TONY AWARD® NOMINATIONS | The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards®

Jodie Jacobs